Books Like Call Me By Your Name
in

7 Great Books Like Call Me By Your Name

Recently, with sci-fi, horror, and epic fantasy coming and reigning in the mainstream pop culture arena, we see very few romance novellas now. But, let me get this straight – Romance and love stories will never get outdated.

Because love is eternal. Does it sound too filmy?

Well, ask yourself, it is the truth too.

Call Me by Your Name by Andre Aciman

Call Me By Your Name makes the best coming-of-age love story for the time it was released.

And as we know there is nothing like too much romance, we are here with a list of books like Call Me By Your Name.

ADVERTISEMENT

The beautiful love story of Elio and Oliver gave the readers a new perspective of love.

A love story where the teenager’s curiosity for a relationship meets with the maturity that one attains after a few years into adulthood. And, if you fell in love with this world, we are sure you will be loving the following list too.

Brace yourself, here is my list of books like Call Me By Your Name by Andre Aciman.

1. In Youth Is Pleasure

In Youth is Pleasure

The trope of retrospective narration might come across as an easy way of storytelling. But, it adds a new perspective that elevates the plot. ‘In Youth Is Pleasure‘ is a classic example of the same.

Just like, Call Me By Your Name, where the protagonist takes us to his youth. But, now it’s not the only love of his life.

He takes you through the many love affairs and relationships he lived through, of his personal experiences, and of others.

The story also expresses a psychological view, as he has matured over the years.

Denton Welch’s primary character, Orvil Pym, is the one who narrates the story.

But, the catch is, your protagonist is unreliable.

This story of relationships will leave you with overwhelming emotions at the end, just like Call Me By Your Name.

Tip: Keep your box of tissues near you!

2. At Swim, Two Boys

At Swim, Two Boys

ADVERTISEMENT

When love takes place during the backdrop of important history, you know you are signing up for a tragedy. But in his debut novel ‘At Swim, Two Boys‘ have a basic plotline.

It’s a humble boy, Jim Mack meets frat boy Doyler Doyle story. But, the world has other plans, with events placed in the days around Easter Sunday of 1916.

This is also a coming out story where Jim learns about homosexuality and grows to accept himself and his desires.

Poverty, war, patriotism, sexual ambiguity, the callous social system of the society all form parts of the story. They stand as the hindrance of the blossoming affection of the two Irish men.

Like, Call Me By Your Name, ‘At Swim, Two Boys‘ takes on how homosexual relationships were in history.


Don’t Miss: 10 Must-Read Books With Positive LGBT Themes


3. Norwegian Wood

Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami

Being a hopeless romantic is sometimes the best way to live away from the realities of the world.

While the other books in this list of books like Call Me By Your Name might be dark and heavy; Haruki Murakami’s Norwegian Wood is a sweet and beautiful story set in 1960, Tokyo.

The historical era the boon is set in makes the story believable, even if we think it is outdated today.

The story follows Toru Wanatabe, and his multiple relationships during his young years. When he met women, fell in love, and dealt with the many emotions that life throws at us.

What happens at the end?

Who does Toru choose?

You will need to read the story to find out.

If you want closure, unlike Call Me By Your Name, Murakami gives you closure, whether you like it or not.

4. We Were Liars

We were Liars

What did you like the most about Call Me By Your Name?

The honesty?

Then, you are bound to love this one. Not because this book, like Call Me By Your Name, is purely authentic, but because it is woven around human emotions of desire and deceiving.

Lies, lies, lies imbibed in true love form the basis of ‘We Were Liars‘ by E. Lockhart.

The story is based on the wealthy and luxurious Sinclair Family. But, something happens on the 15th summer year, but Cadence does not remember what happened. The Liars (Cadence and the three cousins) come back to remind her of what happened that year.

On a thrilling ride of finding who is lying and how their relationships affect reality, ‘We Were Liars‘ will keep you hooked.


Also read: 15 ‘Call Me By Your Name’ Quotes That Will Make You Fall In Love. Again!


5. Love In The Time Of Cholera

Love in the Time of Cholera

The first love always lives through the years.

That is what happens between Elio and Oliver in Call Me By Your Name.

Likewise in ‘Love In The Time Of Cholera‘, there is an eternal love that blossoms between Florentino Ariza and Fermina Daza. But, time has it and they are separated.

But, Florentino keeps waiting, and finally, after five decades of separation, he finds love again. Will it last?

This Spanish story will take you on a rollercoaster ride as you root for the central characters to end up together. And, you live their experience live.

This read will be a long day to finish, so take your time because Nobel Laureate Gabriel Garcia also created the story with time.

6. A Little Life

A Little Life

Next on the list of books like Call Me By Your Name, we have ‘A Little Life‘ by Hanya Yanagihara.

This long book follows the lives of four friends through their college life to when they are middle-aged. Pretty much like Call Me By Your Name, but, here it is the stories of people and not a couple.

How does reality change when you move to a bigger city and find your way of life?

How do you fight with the conflicting emotions that arose with those whom you only called your own?

ADVERTISEMENT

These are tropes that Willem (aspiring actor), JB (the painter), Malcolm (architect), and Jude (lawyer, also who keeps the group together) stumble upon.

With its complex storyline, A Little Life reminds you, friendships are also as complicated bonds as romantic relations are!

7. In The Shadow of the American Dream

7. In The Shadow of the American Dream

In this entire list, you might ask, where are new urban stories?

Well, now here’s the one for you.

This book is like Call Me By Your Name, where you see semblances of love, desire, creativity, and individualism. It is also a personal account of writer David Wojnarowicz, who places his story in the world of fiction.

Intertwined with personal, and professional aspirations in political and emotional turmoil, In the Shadow of the American Dream, is the story of every average man in the urban world.

A story where you can find yourself, this book will take you down the lane of existentialism.

Don’t Miss: 20 Best Romance Books For Teenagers (2021 Edition)


There must be tons of books like Call Me By Your Name or in a very similar context that will hit its reader real hard and we have missed above. If you have read one or know about one, then let us know in the comments below.

Also, let us know which is your favorite book from the list below, and the one where you wept the most!


Disclaimer: This post contains affiliate links. If you click through and purchase one of these products, we receive a small commission at no extra cost to you. We only recommend products we have used and love. If you enjoy Stagbite, using these affiliate links is one way to support us. 🙂

What do you think?

ADVERTISEMENT

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Loading…

0

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT

Rockstar Movie Quiz

Only Someone Who Has Watched Rockstar More Than 10 Times Can Get 9/10 In This Quiz

Sikkim

Facts About Sikkim – The Nature Lover’s Dreamland